top of page

Education Scholarships

College juniors, seniors or graduate students from Central Illinois or attending a college or university in Central Illinois who are majoring in communications, journalism, public relations, marketing, graphic design, videography, photography or related fields are encouraged to apply for our Annual Educational Scholarship.

Scholarship recipients receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Applicants must demonstrate a commitment to pursue a professional career in communications or a related field and service to the field through extracurricular or job activities.

The Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln (CFLL) administers the application process for the communications scholarship. Applications are reviewed by an independent panel of judges.


The deadline for submitting applications is in March of each year.

Scholarship Recipients

The Springfield (Ill.) Association for Women in Communications (AWC) chapter is pleased to announce that Shelby Hodel of Williamsville is the recipient of its $1,000 communications scholarship for 2023.

Hodel is a public relations major at Illinois State University (ISU), where she maintains a 4.0 GPA and will be a senior in the fall.

Hodel serves as graphic design chair for the University’s chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America and as a communications assistant for ISU’s College of Education. Locally, she was active in the community as a summer intern for the Springfield Area Arts Council and served as the Public Relations Officer for the Gay-Straight Alliance while a student at Lincoln Land Community College.

Hodel wants to work in an industry that focuses on helping others. “I want to work somewhere that has a genuine impact, from helping people to simply making them smile or igniting inspiration,” she said. It is also important to her to share her passions for communications by mentoring others. 



Previous scholarship recipients:

  • 2023  Shelby Hodel, Williamsville, Illinois State University

  • 2022  Millie Dean, Illinois State University

  • 2021  Eunice Alpasin, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

  • 2020  Elizabeth Wood, Eastern Illinois University, and Calyssa Richie, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

  • 2019   Megan Crain, University of Nebraska

  • 2018  Emily Stieren, Western Illinois University

  • 2016  Mackenzie Lyons, Sherman, Western Illinois University

  • 2015   Katelyn Siegert, Pana, Eastern Illinois University

  • 2014   Chelsey B. Coombs, Heyworth, New York University

  • 2013   Lauren Murphy [Crocks], Harvel, Illinois State University

  • 2012   Morgan Davis, Columbia University

  • 2011   Jessie Decker, Springfield, University of Illinois Springfield



Interested in supporting our student scholarship?


Help us preserve the communications scholarship for future generations: please consider making a tax-deductible contribution to the Scholarship Fund:

  • Visit – Choose “Giving/Make a Donation” and “Donate Now” to donate online.

  • Mail your contribution to: Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln 205 South Fifth Street, Suite 530 Springfield, IL 62701 Be sure to indicate if your contribution is for Mid-Illinois Communications Association (formerly AWC), Communications Scholarship Fund.

bottom of page